Get Connected
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Sign In
  • Classifieds
  • Sections

GW, Catholic, Winfield players honored by state coaches

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- The Kanawha Valley claimed several of the special awards handed out by the West Virginia Coaches Association.

George Washington senior keeper Garrett Phillips was named the Class AAA boys player of the year while the Patriots' Tom Hopper was tabbed the coach of the year. South Charleston's Devonyet Harris was the defender of the year.

Phillips turned in 19 shutouts and allowed just nine goals as the Patriots captured the AAA boys title. Hopper guided GW to an undefeated record this year, the only one in AAA boys, and a national ranking during the season.

In AAA girls, Winfield's Jayne Lawman was selected player of the year while the Generals' Marshall Hoff was coach of the year. GW's Olivia Miller was chosen goalkeeper of the year while GW's Rachel Mears, Hurricane's Taylor Coalter and Winfield's Kaylee Cross shared defender of the year honors. Hurricane's Abby Watson was named forward of the year.

Lawman, who has verbally committed to Marshall, was the top scorer for the Generals with 23 goals in leading them to the AAA girls title. Hoff led Winfield to a second straight state championship this year, giving the Generals five overall, which is the most in state history.  

Charleston Catholic's Joey Trupo shared Class AA-A boys forward of the year honors and Charleston Catholic's Lucas Gocke shared the defender of the year award. In AA-A girls, Charleston Catholic's Caroline Dundervill was the forward of the year.

Trupo netted 33 goals, which tied for the most in the Kanawha Valley among boys. Dundervill's 41 scores was tops in the Valley for girls.


User Comments